One Moment in Time

“Anne, Anne. ANNE!” my teacher yelled furiously.

Wha-wha-what Miss?” I stammered in reply. I hadn’t been paying attention. I had been caught up with the boy at the back of the classroom. Not just any boy, he’s the boy. The boy that everyone loved, the boy that everyone wanted to be, the boy that everyone girl wanted to be with.

No, this isn’t some story about good girl who meets bad boy. This is a story about the bad girl falling for the good boy. Yeah, I know it sounds weird as I’m saying it. But, is liking a good person really that bad?

“Could you please read out where we’re up to in this text-book?”

“Um, sure just let me find it.”

I struggled finding the page, screw History. The one subject where none of my friends are with me! Just my luck. I scanned the page that I was on. I was about to say something when a piece of paper hit softly against my back. I was about to hurl it back in the direction it came before I saw writing on it.

I opened the scrunched up bit of paper, I couldn’t make out the hand writing. I kept tilting my head with no further succession.

“Page 54”, I heard a hushed voice. I was about to turn and say my thanks before the teacher stated.

“Chase, since you clearly don’t know what your name is you can stay back after school.”

“But, Miss I…” I started to protest. You know that boy that I mentioned earlier? Yeah well that’s him, Chase Murphy. To be honest, I don’t know exactly why he would help me.

“Same goes for you Ms Harrington. You two can both stay here and read this chapter.”

The class fell silent as I heard muffled whispers about Chase and I circulate around the classroom.

“Why would he help someone like her?” One girl asked.

“I have no idea. Seems a bit odd to me.”

“Poor Chase, he has to be stuck with that girl.”

“Do you think they’re going out?”

“Oh, honey I wish” I thought. I turned around to meet his gaze as he smiled lightly, I smiled back and whispered “Thanks” as he mouthed “No problem.”

I turned my attention back to the front, unable to control the smile forming on my face and the redness that started to fill my cheeks.


The rest of the day concluded as quickly as it had begun and before I knew it I had to face detention. I knocked on the classroom door as I noticed Chase already sitting up the front in the seat next to mine. I shuffled my way awkwardly towards him.

“Hi,” he greeted as he pulled out my seat for me.

“Hi” I replied. Trying to match my smile to his.

“Listen, I’m sorry for getting you into trouble” he apologised.

“No, no, no. I’m sorry.” I couldn’t believe that he apologised to me?! I mean, I was the one that got him into trouble.

“Now,” our teacher announced, “I’ve got a mandatory staff meeting that I must attend to. I’ll be back in an hour. If you are to finish just study until I get back.”

She closed the door as you could hear the sound of her heels echo through out the corridor, we waited until they became faint before we decided to talk.

“So, how are you liking this?” he questioned. I couldn’t help but smile once again, he was so bored of this that he actually had to resort to talking about it.

“Well you know, I’ve always found History to be interesting” I stated sarcastically making him chuckle slightly.

Who would’ve thought that the one question he asked would lead to a whole afternoon of talking about every little thing, our goals, desires, secrets etc.

“Tell me something…” I asked Chase.

“What is it?”

“Why did you help me?”

“Well, why wouldn’t I? Besides, I didn’t want you to get into trouble.”

I smiled at this answer, he made it sound so natural as if helping me was second nature.

“I was just wondering, why weren’t you paying attention in the first place?” He asked.

“I was just… daydreaming.” I answered. Trying my best not to show any signs of lying.

“So, tell me something that no-one  knows about you.” Chase asked curiously.

A ridiculous amount of time passed before I finally came back to the conversation with a response.

“I’ve always wondered…”

“What?”

“What it would be like… to be kissed.” I said forcefully.

Chase gave me a warm smile and blushed.

“What?”

“Well, I’ve always wondered the same thing I guess.”

“Wait, you’re telling me that you’ve…”

“No, I haven’t.”

“But, how?”

“I guess, I’ve just been waiting for the perfect moment to share with the perfect girl.”

“What if we…”

“Kissed?” Finishing off Chase’s sentence.

“Yeah.”

So we moved our chairs closer together before trying to figure out where to place our hands. Him placing his hands around my waist and me placing my hands on his jaw bones before leaning in.

We were about to kiss… when our teacher marched back into the classroom. We removed our hands and positioned our seats at our tables to make it look like we were still studying.

“Okay, you two are dismissed. This better not happen again, do you both understand?”

“Yes Miss,” we both replied in unison.

She nodded her head and shuffled us out the door leaving Chase and I by ourselves once more.

“So, I’ll see you tomorrow.” Chase said shyly, scratching the back of his head.

“Yeah, I will. See you tomorrow.”

I started making my way for home with a smile illuminating my face, it was funny how every moment (good or bad) can lead to a moment like that and how a moment like that can only have more moments to follow. Sure, it was one afternoon and yes, maybe I don’t know what’s going to happen.

But, even if nothing happens at least I’ll always have our One Moment in Time.

2 Replies to “One Moment in Time”

Leave a Reply

