Challenges (Writing 101 – Prompt 1)

In life, whether it be sometimes, often or everyday, all of us are challenged. Like me right now, writing a blog post in twenty minutes! It may be against the clock, a fear, a desire or a person. Every single one of us is challenged and I feel like this is one of the many things that makes life interesting. Or maybe the challenge of getting out of bed every morning! (ME)

For me, the biggest challenge of all in my small existence are the battles in my mind. Tossing about with an idea, and a person, about decisions just to name a few. Whereas you can escape many challenges, but your mind is one of the things you cannot and the more you try to push the thought away the harder it hits you when it comes back.

One of my biggest challenges was to tell the truth to my friend that I was in love with him. I knew that it had the potential to ruin a friendship, to hurt me but thanks to the support of my friend, I went through with it and looking back on it now I don’t regret it one bit.

That challenge, the battle between my mind and my heart, telling the truth or not, left me in a very tough decision. Although I had expected the reaction I was given, it didn’t stop me from crying to myself in the bathroom with my friend on the other end of the phone trying to comfort me. It weakened me at the time, but now that time has passed it has made me stronger.

You see, the reason why I couldn’t give up or walk away is because my heart was so fixated on the possibility of the two of us ending up together (my heart is still fixated) but now I see that it wasn’t a complete mistake and that it has given me a whole new outlook on the way I view challenges and how to face them.

You see, challenges can strengthen you or weaken you but in the end they can only really test you and ultimately in my case it strengthened me. Although I didn’t see the benefits of things working out at the time it has now and I’m so thankful for that because it has given me a chance to take a step back and look at the two of us for what we really are and what we’ll always be friends.

So, once again I have been challenged in the form of him. I now have to maintain a friendship while also trying to keep my feelings in check. I guess this is just another challenge for me and I personally cannot wait for what lies ahead 🙂

10 Replies to “Challenges (Writing 101 – Prompt 1)”

  1. I also fell in love with my bestfriend and i’m in awe when you said that you confessed your feelings to him. It takes a lot of courage to say that to him and i’m happy that you actually did it! Unlike you, i was not strong enough to actually say what i really feel for him because of the fear that maybe it’ll be awkward and our friendship will slowly tear apart.

    Like

    1. Thank you for this lovely comment, unfortunately I didn’t completely have the guts to do it face to face as I messaged him over Facebook. But, I guess I couldn’t stop lying to him. Are you still friends with this person?

      Like

Leave a Reply

