My Top Three Favourite Songs (Writing 101 – Prompt 3)

For Writing 101 today, I was asked to write about my three favourite songs and what they mean to me. Now, I do have a lot of favourite songs but I thought for this exercise I’d pick three of my favourite songs that aren’t upbeat and have more of a story behind them so that’ll give me more to talk about. Ok, here goes.

1) Old Shoes by Adam Barnes, this song is an all time favourite. I had only heard this song a few months ago as it was the background track for a video made by vlogger Zoella. This song has a calming feel to it as I feel the story within it could relate to anyone. The story within it being told is about the journeys that this person has been on, with it being based around their shoes. This song is always suitable for any mood that I’m in.

2) Pumped up Kicks by Foster the People, now I had heard this song a long, long time ago on the radio while my Mum was driving us all back from the shops (Us being my brother and I). Now, I don’t know exactly how much time passed but I remember it was one afternoon at school and I had excused myself to go to the bathroom and on my way there I heard someone say, ‘Pumped up Kicks’ the name of the song. Immediately, the moment I got out of the bathroom I typed in the song as I listened to it on my way back to class. Taking my time as I wanted to completely appreciate the words blaring in my ears. Jogging when the chorus came on.

It just occurred to me that these two songs both have something to do with shoes. Haha, I never even realised that. Anyway moving on to my last song which is…

3) Young and Beautiful by Lana Del Ray, now this song means a great deal to me. Even though I don’t remember exactly when I first heard it I’m still in love with it as much as I was the first time I listened to it. You see, when I was in Year 9 and I had no friends, my grades were at an all time low and I hated the school that I was in. It was one of the songs that I listened to at that time, on my walk to school and it made me realise something very important. That even though I was a mess, that I was Young and Beautiful very much like this song. I still listen to this song today to remind myself that even though I may have bad days, that it could be a whole lot worse.

Also today, for the twist I was asked to commit to a writing practice. Meaning the amount of time I should be taking out of my day for writing and I have decided that I’m going to try to commit to 25 uninterrupted minutes each day. Now, that could potentially differ but I’m really hoping that I can commit to this! Wish me luck! 🙂

Until next time,

– Ainsworth, Xx

8 Replies to “My Top Three Favourite Songs (Writing 101 – Prompt 3)”

    1. Oh my god, your comments have literally made my day. Thank you so much for reading, following and commenting on my blog and for taking time out of your day to listen to these wonderful tracks. I’m glad that I introduced you to these tracks 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

