Different Perspectives (Writing 101 – Prompt 9)

Man’s P.O.V.

I walk down the park trail, hand in hand with my girlfriend. We’re on our second last date before I plan to propose to her tonight over dinner. I figured that after two years of being with her, that I couldn’t go another day without her being my wife.

“Is everything ok?” She asked. I turned to look at her, a look of concern on her face. I gave her a small smile before saying:

“Yeah, I’ve just got a lot on my mind.” I replied. Technically, I did have a lot on my mind. I mean, I had people back at the house setting up for our dinner.

“Okay,” she said as she kissed my shoulder and smiled.

“Look!” she exclaimed.

“What?” I asked.

I turned to look in the direction of where her finger pointed, there sat an old lady that had finished knitting up a sweater?

“Can we go over to her?” she asked insistently, already tugging at my arm.

I chuckled slightly before I said, “Well, do I have a choice?”

“Nope, not really.” She said whilst still tugging at my arm.

We arrived at the spot where the old lady was seated.

“Hello,” she greeted as she rubbed the old lady’s arm.

“Oh, hi.” she replied in surprise.

“I just couldn’t help but admire that lovely sweater that you had just finished making.”

“Oh, why thank you.” she said as she dipped her head, moving the hat seated on her head forward slightly.

“I was just wondering… if maybe… I could maybe have it?” she questioned.

“Yeah, of course!”

“Great, how much?”

“No, keep it. As a Valentine’s Day gift.”

“Thank you so much!” she exclaimed as she embraced the lady before we started walking off.

I looked at her lovingly, this would be one Valentine’s Day that she was never going to forget.


Woman’s P.O.V.

I’m hand holding my boyfriend as we continue down the park trail. Taking in all of Nature’s sights and sounds. Just another ordinary day, nothing could be better.

I turn to look at my boyfriend, I could tell that he was deep in thought about something. We told each other everything?! I couldn’t help myself, damn me and being curious!

“Is everything ok?” I asked him. He turned to meet my gaze as he gaze a smile.

“Yeah, I’ve just got a lot on my mind.” he replied. He’s hiding something, I know it. Oh god, what if he’s planning to break up with me?! Maybe after two years he doesn’t feel the same way as I do and to make it worse it’s Valentine’s Day.

“Okay,” I said quickly as I kissed his shoulder and smiled. I’ve just got to keep it together.

I turned my head to the left to see an elderly woman knitting a sweater. It reminded me of how my grandmother had knitted me a sweater when I was younger, the same shade of red that the woman had. I loved that sweater, since it’s Valentine Day’s maybe that woman would consider selling it.

“Look!” I exclaimed to my boyfriend as I pointed to her.

“What?” he asked. Looking at the woman and the sweater.

“Can we go over to her?”

“Well, do I have a choice?”

“Nope, not really.” I stated as I started tugging at his arm and dragging him behind me.

We arrived at the spot where the old lady was seated.

“Hello,” I greeted.

“Oh, hi.” She replied. Oh great, now I’ve scared the woman.

“I just couldn’t help but admire that lovely sweater that you had just finished making.” I said.

“Oh, why thank you.”

“I was just wondering… if maybe… I could have it?” I asked. I knew that asking this question was a really bad idea, I immediately regret it the moment I said it.

“Yeah, of course!” she exclaimed to my surprise.

“Great, how much?” I asked already pulling my purse out of my handbag.

“No, keep it. As a Valentine’s Day gift.”

“Thank you so much!” I said as I started to embrace the lady.

We waved goodbye as we started walking off, she has made my Valentine’s Day a day to remember.


Elderly Woman’s P.O.V.

I sat here knitting my sweater, finally the first thing that I’ve knitted in a long time is finally almost finish. It’s my first Valentine’s Day without my late husband and I guess I had to find something to do, especially today of all days.

I spotted a young couple walking hand in hand down the park trail, ah young love. Nothing as sweet or as innocent, those were truly the days that made you feel you like you were on top of the world.

They barely spoke to each other, but something was definitely wrong. You could tell by the look of concern on their faces. Oh, I shouldn’t keep staring. Probably best that I finish this off now.

Ah, finished. I held up the sweater and looked at it from every angle and couldn’t help but feel a sense of admiration and achievement. I placed the sweater down.

“Hello,” I heard a young voice greet me.

“Oh, hi,” I replied. I recognised the young couple as the one that I was staring at before. I couldn’t help but wonder about their story.

“I just couldn’t help but admire that lovely sweater that you had just finished making.” she said.

“Oh, why thank you.”

“I was just wondering… if maybe… I could have it?” she asked. I pondered this thought, well it is Valentine’s Day after all. Anything to take the look of concern that I saw on her face before.

“Yeah of course!”

“Great, how much?” Now I wasn’t going to make her pay, not today anyway.

“No, keep it. As a Valentine’s Day gift.”

“Thank you so much!” she exclaimed as she embraced me in a warm hug. It made me happy to know that I had made someone’s day.

They waved to me as they started to walk away as I looked up towards the sky. I saw my late husband amongst the clouds as he gave me a smile, I returned it as I tear fell down my cheek.

This was definitely a Valentine’s Day to remember.

5 Replies to “Different Perspectives (Writing 101 – Prompt 9)”

Leave a Reply

