What Felt Right (Writing 101 – Prompt 12)

I pull my friend up towards the back of the hall, words of what I’m about to say quickly fill my mind and feel stuck at the back of my throat. I’m suddenly having second thoughts about what I’m about to do next.

“I’m sorry but we can’t be friends anymore,” I say getting right to the point.

“But, why?” He asks. It kills me to do this, but I know I couldn’t tell him the real reason why. I was too overcome with jealousy that it hurt, it had this effect in which I could only describe as claustrophobic. Claustrophobic to escape a friend, to escape my thoughts and most importantly to escape my feelings.

“I have to go.” I say quickly. I just had to keep moving.

“Ainsley!” he shouted across the hall but I kept on walking. I didn’t care if I was crawling or running I couldn’t stay stationary for a moment longer.

The end of the day approached me faster than I thought and before I knew it we had to go home. What a relief after today, especially after a Friday. It meant that I wouldn’t have to see him for another two days. Thoughts of him already surfacing in my mind.

“Ainsley.” He called out once again. Luckily my friend who was right beside me pulled me away and spoke to me. Wondering what was going on.

“You don’t want to talk to him?” he asked.

“I just… can’t.”

“Fair enough.” he said. At that moment my bus came, my timing seemed to be pretty good today.

“We need to talk.” My other friend said as I started making haste for my bus.

“I’ve said all I needed to say,” I said as I continued to walk. The feeling of regret slowing my steps down and that fear of doubt started to grow in my mind again. But, that didn’t stop me from getting on my bus and getting home.

That weekend was probably the worst, all my thoughts were centred on our conversation. I was appalled at my actions and to this day I still am.  Even though what I did was wrong, it somehow felt so right.


Hi Everyone,

So, sorry if this post isn’t too good as today as been a challenge enough. I may have changed some minor details but I wrote to the best of my memory. As always please leave a like, rating, follow or feedback as any of these would be greatly appreciated.

I have also posted a Film Review Schedule which is going to be mentioned in every post at the moment. Please check it out! If there’s any particular movie that you’d like me to do please leave a comment on any of my blog posts and I’ll try my best to review them. Keep an eye out for it as it is going to be updated regularly.

I have also started and have almost finished my review on the new movie The Age of Adaline! My second film review, so you could say that I’m very excited!

Thanks, Happy Reading and Good Luck to Everyone doing Writing 101,

– Ainsworth 🙂 , Xx

9 Replies to “What Felt Right (Writing 101 – Prompt 12)”

  1. Although the ending was a bit abrupt I didn’t think this was a bad post at all! If anything it made me want to know more about what happened, who was he and why couldn’t they be friends? What happened next? My curiosity is definitely peaked!

    Like

    1. Haha, I loved this comment. I’m really considering doing a Part Two on this piece and from your comment it sounds like that’d be something you’d like.

      I’ll definitely have to check out that movie sometime. Thanks for the recommendation.

      – Ainsworth 🙂

      Like

  2. It was an interesting piece and yes I’d like to read more. I would suggest you use names instead of pronouns, it helps to keep the story clearer, even if you just make them up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

