The ‘Not’ So Typical ‘New Year, New Me.’

2016! Yay, the dawn of a New Year is upon us once again! (Even if the ‘dawn’ was celebrated three weeks ago.) Anywho, in that short space of three weeks I have somehow managed to regrettably make the biggest mistake/realisation that I’m pretty sure will be for this year.

This all occurred two nights ago, when an article had sparked an interest. (For those of you who must know, it was about lazy people.) So once I had finished the article, I spotted an ad at the bottom of the page, that basically promised how a new diet could melt all your fat away and make you buff in a month. And with the whole, ‘New Year, New Me’ mindset that I always had this time of year, I clicked on it. This was my first mistake.

After reading this article and the comments below, I had convinced myself that this diet and exercise would be the answer to all of my problems. Such as boosting my confidence, self-esteem and eventually… happiness.

Well, basically it all went downhill when I had stumbled across another site that had exposed the ad’s deceitful behaviour and with that my dreams were crushed. Had I really become so obsessed with vanity that I would let some ad tell me that how I look wasn’t good enough? Good enough for my family, friends and even me?

Yes, and that really is the biggest shame isn’t it. Not even the lies that the ad had fed me couldn’t shame me more than I had myself. It was the fact that I had let myself become so gullible, ropeable even, to think that a quick fix would magically solve all my problems.

Even though I was willing to use to a shortcut in order to help me achieve a personal goal, I know realise that although a shortcut will inevitably help you achieve your goals faster, that it can and will take away the satisfaction and pride that is meant to be felt afterwards.

So, I guess for me the ‘New Year, New Me’ mantra still applies but instead of realising my goals, I have chosen to take a look at my mistakes and ensure that they don’t happen again instead. And ultimately, this is what will make me a better person.

FIRST LIFE LESSON: ‘Never let an ad make you think and feel less of yourself.’ Haha (INSERT CRYING LAUGHING FACE EMOJI IF YOU WISH).

Have a Good 2016 Everyone!

– Ainsworth, πŸ™‚ Xx

2 Replies to “The ‘Not’ So Typical ‘New Year, New Me.’”

  1. Well Ains, the first life lesson is actually this: Although a shortcut will inevitably help you achieve your goals faster, that it can and will take away the satisfaction and pride that is meant to be felt afterwards.

    Or make that your second life lesson πŸ™‚ But what I’m glad for is that you’re in this head space to realize these follies at your age. The sad truth is that most people do get carried away by vanity and social pressure. Anyway, wishing your “new year, new me” mantra a success!

    As for fitness, the more and more I researched the more I realized that there are no shortcuts or crash-courses for a sustained well-being. As long as we make the correct lifestyle choices, we’ll reach there one day or the other. Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Haha, that’s going to go down in my second life lesson. I agree, realising this so early on will undoubtedly make me the correct choices to help me live for a long-lasting and satisfying life. And this is definitely something that is going to take time and effort, but that’s what life is all about right? Hehe 😊

    – Ainsworth, Xx πŸ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

