The Monster Within

DISCLAIMER: This is entirely a work of ‘Fiction’. Now this story does dabble upon the theme of ‘Abuse’. I’m sorry if I’ve mishandled/misrepresented a delicate issue through my writing. I personally haven’t gone through anything, this is just from the depths of my imagination 🙂

This post was inspired by ‘The Daily Post’ October 15th Writing Prompt – SubduedEnjoy!


2:28AM: Damn…

Jasmine,

I know that I’m probably the last person you would ever wanted to hear from again. Now, you know that I’m not the best with words… or feelings for that matter. Which, I know doesn’t excuse what I did; nothing ever will. But, nonetheless I would really appreciate it if you would hear me out.

To simply put it, it was a dare… but I fell for you. That part definitely wasn’t planned. But, everything that came after that? Yes, that was. The dare being that I had to stalk a pretty girl until she would agree to go out with me. If only I hadn’t listened, I would’ve saved us a lot of trouble if I didn’t.

Then it all started that night, nothing was special. There was the constant hustle and bustle of the city around us, I mean, it is referred to the ‘City that never sleeps’ after all.

But I walked down to my local diner, I’d like to say that it was fate that brought me there that night. That would be a lot easier, and would make the story sound a whole lot… sweeter. Than it actually was. And maybe if you weren’t involved, maybe I wouldn’t mind changing it to the way I had envisioned. 

Unfortunately, we both know how this story ends… there’s no sugar-coating it. So, I won’t. You deserve better than that.

I walked up to the booth where you sat, and asked you why a beautiful young lady like yourself was seated by herself. You had proceeded to tell me that you had been stood up by your date.

(SIGHS) Me being that date… 

Truth be told, I manipulated you. I wanted to make you feel better after you were left abandoned by that guy. The guy you had no trouble talking to about anything, and he felt the same way.

And things were pretty sweet from then on out, but… the guy that I became. The one when I was drunk, he came with a temper. One that he couldn’t keep under control. And as a result, the one person he loved. (Still love) Copped it. 

Yes, I wasn’t in the best state when I had been drunk. But, I did finally go to AA Meetings and am currently seeing a therapist every week. And I wanted you to know that my inner demons have been subdued. I know that we’ll never be able to be together, which is the biggest regret I will ever have to live with. But, if it means going to bed at night knowing that you’re safe. Than I think that I can live with that.

My therapist told me that writing this letter, regardless if I sent it or not. Would provide me with some closure, of sorts. And the reason I’m sending this, is because I was hoping that it would provide you with the same.

I really am sorry and I wish you all the best,

Curtis, Xo


Jasmine closed the letter and sighed, as a single tear flowed without allowance. The closure she had sought out for many years had finally been given. Her mind focused on his words,

‘…my inner demons have been subdued.’

She winced at this thought, as a cold chill tickled the hairs on the back of her neck. Although his inner demons had been subdued, hers weren’t. And unbeknownst to her, they wouldn’t. Although time healed all wounds, she couldn’t help but feel that she was an exception to this rule.

She could never forgive him, she still had so much hate in her. So much fear. So much that she took Self Defense Classes, sleeps with a knife under her bed, and never associates herself with bars or drinking.

This would be her way of fighting the demons.

She pondered this thought before she turned back to her small house made of brick.

‘If only I could be as strong as this house,’ she stated before walking down the driveway, going about her day like nothing had happened.

3:11AM: (FINISHED)

4 Replies to “The Monster Within”

      1. Hehe, thank you Marie! It turns out that I’ve just published a new post and have written another one! (Which will be published in a few hours). The one I’ve just written is a bit sad too, and is a story… so keep your eyes peeled for that one!

        Thanks for your continued support,

        – Ainsworth, 🙂 Xx

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

