Commitment in the form of a Snap Streak

DISCLAIMER: This is a ‘Non-Fictional’ Post. 

Beware, that this is a rant. Haha, so it may not be as delightful or as pleasing as my typical ‘Fictional’ posts that I publish in response to these prompts. But, nonetheless… here it is!

This post was inspired to me by The Daily Post‘ October 23rd Prompt – Artificial. Enjoy!


2:38AM: ‘And I thought the last prompt was difficult!’

Okay, let me start off by saying that if you have ‘SnapChat’ you probably will have a fair idea of what I’m about to discuss. And why I feel it necessary to discuss.

For starters, Snap Streaks have got to be the most ridiculous thing ever. Yet we as Snap Chatters have so much worry if we are to lose one! I will admit, I currently have a Snap Streak with one person and I know I definitely am scared of losing it.

But, here’s the thing… I did lose another one.

Just last week, I lost a Snap Streak with a person I considered to be a friend. Someone who I thought could become more than that someday…

If you haven’t realised by now, I lost this streak deliberately…

Reason being is, I felt like I wasn’t a friend to this guy anymore. Just some thing to tend to every day, this was a substitute for the already artificial commitment he had to me. The real one was lost a long, long time ago…

See, when this streak started… it was good at first. But, there’s just something about seeing that name pop up on the screen knowing that a photo with varying backgrounds with the word ‘Streaks’ on it… just becomes somewhat tiresome. And after 42 days, I couldn’t help but feel weary!

Now, he stills sends me photos via this app. But, there has been absolutely no acknowledgement whatsoever that this streak is over! Makes me think, that if this ‘Streak’ mattered so much, than why wasn’t anything said about it now that it’s ended?

Oh, and he sent me a photo the other week… where he stated where he was bored. Mind you, this was after the daily ‘Streaks’ photo I was so blessed to be getting every morning (CUE THE EYE ROLL). And it made me think…

Is he only ‘Snap Chatting me now because he’s ‘bored?’

Did he only just start this streak, because he was bored?

Am I the thing to relieve him of this boredom?!

And the fact that he only did this when he was bored, just makes me think… if he hadn’t been bored… would he have even bothered?!

I don’t know anymore… but I do know one thing. I am bored, of him! And I know for a fact that I definitely couldn’t be bothered keeping this ‘artificial’ commitment to him.

Although I did lose the streak, I can’t help but feel that I’ve reigned Victorious!

And at the end of the day, I would rather have our friendship, stay like our Snap Streak…

3:04AM: (FINISHED)

Leave a Reply

