Change = Growth

DISCLAIMER: This is a ‘Fictional’ Post.

Now, on a more important note, if you haven’t read the post below, I suggest you read it (Right after this one, haha). Everything will be explained further there.

This post was also inspired by ‘The Daily Post‘ October 25th Prompt – Transformation. Enjoy! 🙂


1:52AM: ‘Story time!’

“I’m so sorry, I promise I won’t hurt you like I did.” The sincerity interwined in his voice and the audacity of his thinking that somehow saying it repeatedly, would somehow make everything better, surprised me. But that surprise didn’t compare to the one in that I actually had started believing in those words he spoke.

“I want to believe you, I really do. I just don’t know if I can…” I replied, and for the first time ever. I was finally being honest with myself, and with him.

“What can I do to make it up to you?”

There was a slight pause before I started to think…

‘Was there anything that could be done?’

‘Was there anything that could be said?

‘Was there any way of really moving past this?’

I nodded, before finally turning to meet his gaze once more.

“No, there isn’t…”

“Why’s that?”

“Because… I’ve gone through a personal transformation. You see, I have changed. I’m not the moon-eyed girl that would’ve forgiven you straight away. For fear that I’d lose you. Now, that fear has gone… Part of me changing, is growing. And I learned to grow, grow into the person I am today without the thought of you weighing heavily on my mind.”

“I really screwed up, didn’t I?”

“Yes, you did. But… no regrets?”

“For you maybe… I have to live with the regret that a person I was once close to… isn’t willing to be close to me anymore.”

“I know… but you wouldn’t like the new me.”

“Why’s that?” He smirked.

“Well, I’m wiser, smarter and… tougher.” I stated before lightly punching him in the arm.

He laughed, one of his small laughs. And I couldn’t help but return with a chuckle of my own. He didn’t even realise how much he had changed without me… He had been so focused on changing for my forgiveness, that he had completely ignored the fact that he had changed for himself.

It was this, that led me to believe… that matter the outcome. That he’d be okay either way.

I had also forgiven him, a long time ago…

But the thing is, if I were to give him the chance he wanted. The chance that he needed, to make everything better… would I be betraying the person I became or the person I was?

I stared at him, before I did something that I had a terrible feeling of regretting…

Maybe I wasn’t as ‘tough’ as I had been led to believe…

2:43AM: (FINISHED)

Leave a Reply

