Blinding Light

DISCLAIMER: This is a ‘Fictional’ Post. Now, I’d like to apologise for my lack of writing (and reading) as of late. I have been swamped with outings alongside a lack of motivation has led to my infrequent posts. 

I discovered this story a while back, it’s a story I wrote for English. Mind you I got a 9/10. Not too shabby for someone that wrote it on the due date! (If I do say so myself, haha).

This post, for the first time in a long while hasn’t been inspired by any writing prompts. So, enjoy! 🙂


‘Why can’t I see the stars?’ the young boy muttered curiously to his mother. The mother stopped what she was doing and crouched by his head as a question took control of her thoughts.

‘Was he really ready for what lay ahead?’ She knew that now was as good a time as any to finally unearth the truth.

“Joe, you see the thing is… you can.”

The boy raised his head in what appeared to be a mixture of surprise and curiosity. He couldn’t see the stars, he couldn’t see anything for that matter. He knew that, his mother knew that. Everyone who had or is associated with him had known that. So, how was it that after 17 years of living in the dark could he now suddenly see?

His mother went on to explain that he could see anything he wanted to. That he just needed to try harder and dig a little deeper.

“But mother, I’ve tried. I really have, but nothing seems to work.”

“No, you haven’t.” She stated before taking a slight pause. “Not if you’re being honest.”

He remained silent, he knew that despite his best efforts that his mother would never see it from his perspective. He stood up from his chair and took a step towards the window, taking in all that he could of Mother Nature. Which for him, only ever consisted of sounds. It suddenly dawned on him that he had never seen his Mother’s face. The colour of her hair, the lightly shaded pair of green eyes she spoke of, even the paleness of her skin. Only ever hearing things constantly made him suspicious of people.

Joe had always been a realist, his mother had always thought that because of his condition that he could’ve been a little bit optimistic. He knew that she had the best of intentions, but that would never rub off onto him.

“Can we go for a stroll?” He asked.

“Sure.” His Mother came over, took his hand and guided him to the door, before promptly shutting it behind her.

They remained silent throughout their walk. Although Joe was blind, he knew his Mother wanted to say something. He guessed that once you’ve known someone for long enough and love them deeply, you really do know them.

This thought was interrupted when the feeling of the ground below him, disappeared.

“AHHHHH!” He’d cried, as he toppled sideways into the small creek surrounding the small length of wood that acted as a bridge.

“Joe?!” His Mother exclaimed, urgently pulling him back to the grassy area. “Are you alright?”

“Yes, I’m quite fine. Just drenched, cold and a little bit shaken. But, other than that I’m great.” He replied, the sarcasm evident in his tone.

But, despite this they continued their walk. The silent more evident and awkward than it had been before. They both wanted to say something, knowing that they had hurt each other. But, for whatever reason they said nothing. It was the words not said that they could only regret.

After an hour or so walking, they returned to their home. This is where the silence had finally been broken…

“Okay, I can’t do this anymore. Being quiet, look I know that it’s hard. Living the way that you do, but it’s not my fault! How can I keep telling you that it’s going to get better if you don’t even believe that yourself?!” His mother spoke, her voice higher than it usually was, but just low enough to not be considered a yell. He could tell from her tone that she was simply fed up.

He knew that feeling all too well…

“How can I believe it when I know that it won’t?! Honestly, it doesn’t get better nor worse from here! It doesn’t change, it never does and I hate to break this to you, but it never will!”

They had continued to bicker for a short time after that, this wasn’t speaking at all. As the argument progressed you just knew that one of them would say something that was bound to strike a nerve with the other.

His Mother finally grew weary of the fighting, and eventually left the room with a sigh. Joe listened out for the sound of her footsteps, which grew more fainter as she left. She may have been gone, but the tension and anger that had now filled their small home certainly hadn’t. It had clouded their minds and their judgement.

That night, Joe lay in bed; restless. He couldn’t help but ponder his earlier argument with his Mother. She had loved him with all her heart and she had only ever tried to do what was best for him. But, for whatever reason he never failed to make her feel like that it wasn’t enough. He finally realised that she didn’t deserve this; not one bit.

**

The next morning came around and their argument had seemly been forgotten.

“You were right you know.” Joe stated.

“About what exactly? I happen to be right about a lot of things.” His Mother replied with a smirk.

“That I can see the stars, if I use my head rather than my senses… I should be able to see them.”

He really could, the way he figured it was that although his life was devoid of sight that it didn’t define him at all. He may not be able to see his Mother’s face, but with some curiosity and imagination he shouldn’t have to. He may not have a favourite colour, but I guess black would have to suffice.

“I’m going to go for a walk now.”

“Why?” His Mother asked with concern.

“There’s a lot of exploring I must do.” He said as he grabbed the camera by the dresser.

“Why the camera?”

“Well, I figured that I’d take some photos and when I get back we could view them together and you can tell me how bad I am.” He chuckled.

“Okay, I look forward to seeing those. Have fun!”

“I will.” He said as he shut the door, absorbing Mother Nature once again.

 

5 Replies to “Blinding Light”

    1. Naww, thanks Linda! I did edit a few bits, because back then I didn’t completely understand the value of editing. But still… I am pretty happy with it!

      Thanks for your comment!

      – Ainsworth, Xx

      P.S. How are the book sales coming along?! 😊😊😊

      Like

      1. Editing is important. 🙂 But the good news is, the more practice you get at it, the less you’ll need to do it.
        I almost made it to 100 sales. I think I’m still about three shy. But I’m happy with that! Thanks so much for asking. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Exactly! The day I won’t have to be so dependent on editing is a day I look forward to, haha. That’s so good! 😊😊😊 And yes, I am going to uphold my promise in that I will purchase your book when I do start to work!

        – Ainsworth, Xx 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

