Something New…

DISCLAIMER: This is a ‘Fictional’ Post. 

Now, Fun Fact: I haven’t tried any of the foods listed in this story (And yes, that does include ‘tarts’ as well. Sorry!)

This post was inspired by ‘The Daily Post‘ November 15th Prompt – Tart. So enjoy! Xx


6:04PM: ‘Man, I seem to be lovin’ the dialogue as of late…’

“How have you never had a tart before?!” My friend Vicki exclaimed.

She had a knack for doing this, questioning me if I haven’t heard, seen, tried, or done something she hasn’t. She seems to think that I’m missing out.

“I don’t know, I just… haven’t. Let me put it this way, if you knew of the list of foods that I am yet to try. You might just have a fit.” I laughed.

“Oh yeah…?” She remarked, daring me.

“Alright, fine then. But don’t say I didn’t warn you. Let me think…” I paused and pondered, before replying with; “I’ve never tried Marshmallows.”

Vicki gasped, as she dramatically placed her hand on her heart. I smiled, before continuing:

“There’s also Peanut Butter, Fairy Floss, Nutella…”

“Whoa, whoa! Okay.” Vicki said cutting me off. “I get it… You haven’t lived.” She stated, shaking her head and smiling.

“Well, would you try a tart today if I were to give you one?” She propositioned.

“Do I have a choice?”

“Nope,” she stated bluntly. Before chuckling lightly.

She then proceeded to hand me a Custard Tart. Now, it wasn’t so much that I hadn’t had the chance to eat the foods that I said I haven’t. It’s just that… I’m kind of not a fan of  straying too far out of my comfort zone.

I guess up until I had met Vicki, I wouldn’t had considered this to be a problem. But, after you realise that it’s starting to affect other aspects of your life, you start to worry.

I closed my eyes and swallowed hard, preparing myself before I would bring the small pastry up to my mouth. Unfortunately, I had already made up my mind…

The line between having my thoughts as being correct or being pleasantly surprised was answered once I swallowed my first bite…

Sorry Vicki, I guess the list of things we disagree on has just become slightly longer…

6:24PM: (FINISHED)

Leave a Reply

