The Progress Report (No. 3) – Total Honesty

DISCLAIMER: This is a ‘Non-Fictional’ Post.

This is the third instalment to ‘The Progress Report‘. I’m so glad to have finally written this, I only hope that things for this blog will only get better in the future.

These are definitely my favourite posts to write! So I hope you enjoy!

As always, any likes, comments or follows would be greatly appreciated 🙂

Photo Credit: Khachik Simonian (Courtesy of Unsplash.com)

Photo Editor: By ME! (Courtesy of Befunky.com)


10:23AM: ‘I already feel better…’

I’ve finally figured it out. I’ve finally figured out why I haven’t been blogging (or rather writing in general) very much lately. Actually, this struggle to write has been going on ever since I started writing. As it turns out, the answer to this dilemma was quite simple:

‘I love writing, I love art and I definitely love to create. But I’m actually not that passionate about Writing.’

And here’s what probably surprised me the most during this revelation, and that is:

‘I don’t think that I’ve ever been that passionate about writing.’

And because I haven’t had that passion for writing in the same way that other fellow Writers, Authors and Bloggers have, every platform that I’ve ever shared my writing on, from FanFiction to Wattpad and now to WordPress. I’ve continuously  struggled to create content and maintain it ever since I began.

After thinking about it some more, I started to wonder whether I didn’t lose my passion for writing. But rather I never had it in the first place.

Whilst Writing this, I thought of a quote I heard from the TV Show Glee once. It was in Season 3 Episode 12 and a female student was speaking to her teacher. Now this teacher was teaching an extracurricular activity and had a job as a Spanish Teacher at the school in the day. (I know this seems irrelevant, but bear with me) So this teacher was fighting for his title for Spanish Teacher against the teacher who taught Spanish at Night. Now that Teacher love the Spanish language, he was passionate and unlike the daytime teacher, he could fluently speak Spanish.

Now when this student asked the daytime Spanish Teacher, why he had become a Spanish Teacher he had said that it was because it was the only teaching position available at the time.

And she responded by saying,

‘I’m going to remind you of something a great Teacher once taught me:

‘Without passion you can’t succeed’.

“Who taught you that?” He asked her.

“You did, and you do. When you teach Glee.” (‘Glee’ is the club that he taught because he wanted to bring it back because he had been in it when he was in High School. He had a love of Singing, Dancing and Performing which led him to succeed in running that club. In the end, his passion didn’t go unnoticed. He was not only made Principal of the School, but they renamed it so that it would be a Performing Arts School. And instead of having One Glee Club. They now had numerous Clubs).

What I’ve taken away from watching that show, is that I need to start being honest and what I want and what I can do. Last time I wrote one of these posts, I stated that I would: ‘…write more, read more, follow more…’ and I think it’s safe to say that I haven’t delivered on any of those promises. I haven’t even really tried.

When I wrote that report, I honestly thought that things were going to be different. I really did, and I guess a part of me wanted to believe that if I put pen to paper then published it all online afterwards, that maybe I might just do better.

So here is me, being completely honest. I’m not going to write more, I’m not going to read more and I’m definitely not going to follow more. I’m not even going to say that I will ‘try’ because deep down I already know that I won’t.

But, I do love Writing and I do love Blogging. So I’m not going to stop, I’m just going to stop placing undue pressure to write and create. And hopefully, this is the start of a more honest A.J. BAWSE.

See, this is what comes with being a Rebel (I’ll elaborate on this further in the next report, I don’t know when. But I will).

That’s a promise.

– A.J. BAWSE, Xx

10:52AM: (FINISHED)

Leave a Reply

