My Distrust of Love Stories

Now, one of the things that I have realised over the past couple of weeks is that over the course of my life that I have placed a lot of trust and faith into love stories.

Whether it be a story, TV, Film or Song they seem to teach you that if an individual is exposed to some kind of suffering that love will be the answer. That their self-esteem is low enough that they need someone to love them before they can love themselves and only now have I realised that my perceptions of love and my wanting of love has been shaped by what I’ve seen ever since I was young.

Even now, I still believe that one day that when you meet the one. The one that you love and the one that you want to spend the rest of your life with, that you’ll now and somehow you’ll be ready. And that nothing could ever have prepared you for the adventure that you’re in for.

Another thing, love at first sight. Is it true that even when you have seen someone, or have never been with that person or even spoken to them that somehow you can love that person with all your heart? Or is that just lust?

I guess every love story begins with loving the idea over the person, the idea of being with someone rather than actually loving them for being them. It’s when two people decide to commit to a relationship that becomes the real test.

At the moment, I’m in love with the idea of finding someone that’ll love me and the idea of an us. The feeling that comes with the thought that there’s someone out there that’s made for you is far too good to turn down.

So, what I’m saying is don’t fall in love over what has influenced you over the years. Fall in love with your own story, and not the idea of what love should be or how you should love. Each story is different after all.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Bailey Jackson says:

    I love your points! Many of these are why I can’t stand romance stories. Stories with romance in them? Sure, why not. But stories were romance is the main plot drive me crazy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, I can’t completely disagree with you on that one. I am guilty of loving romance stories but this does depend on it’s execution, especially since this is a fundamental need and want from people I think that the way it is conveyed to people should be reconsidered.

      Like

  2. Uday says:

    Sometimes I too get carried away by the ‘idea’ of love. But finally, it depends on the other person. Sometimes I realize that I just like the idea of being with someone but don’t really like the person honestly. These things do happen. Oh, and love at first sight is a lie. More like lust at first sight. Love comes much later in a relationship!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I think that you can get a feeling that the person you meet you will grow to love. I was in love with a guy, but the idea of him is what I grew to love after a while. Even now, I still struggle to completely get over him.

      Like

Leave a comment